Why can I write what I can’t say

I never thought of myself as a pen to paper kinda guy. If we were to meet face to face, you would find me to be courteous but certainly not reserved.  I have no problem speaking in public or stating my opinion.  Yet to see a thought manifested on paper, forever permanent,  has caused me to retrain my thought processes. I think about how, when I am writing, I find myself searching for the correct word or phrase.  I take time to consider my words and do my best to  choose them wisely. 
It’s ironic that in a social setting I am so cavalier with my words. Seldom aware of how an off the cuff remark may affect others. Recently I was reminded of Matthew 15:11 in which Jesus states.

“What goes into someone’s mouth does not defile them, but what comes out of their mouth, that is what defiles them.”

Spoken words are actions. Actions define who we are and how the world sees us.

Writing, I believe,  is how we would like to be seen. It is our thoughts, emotions and dreams carefully and clearly defined.  However, few if any see this side of our personality.

That is one of the reasons I have began writing this blog. I hope one day that what comes out of my mouth is the same as what I would put on paper. 

Again, baby steps towards a larger goal.

Leave a Reply

