Sacrifice

“Sacrifice demands the surrender of things we cherish above all else. Only out of the agony of those losses can a new resolution be born. An undying devotion to a cause greater than one’s self. And a moral duty to see a journey through to its absolute completion.”

Inspiration can come from anywhere. This quote came from the TV show “Revenge”. I really never come away with any real benefit from spending time watching TV. But now and again I find a little nugget of wisdom.What made this experience unique is that a character was trying to define the term “Sacrifice”.

The definition, in this case, reminded me of my own journey. There once was a time when I had to acknowledge my mistakes and take accountability for my decisions. I either could continue on the path i was on, or start over, and face all the repercussions that would surely follow. The easy choice would have been to stay the course, but I knew it was not the right choice.

I have come to realize that if I face a tough decision, taking the easy way is usually the wrong way. There was a time when I wanted a personal relationship with God, yet I did not want to get hurt in the process. I can remember praying for a closer relationship to Christ, however I didn’t want to face any obstacles to achieve it. In essence I wanted a relationship that I didn’t have to work for. But a relationship like that would be meaningless, because I had nothing vested in it. In order to know my heavenly father I would have to suffer. Struggles and the love given during tough times are what gives any relationship value. This realization required me to surrender my ego and trust in Christ and endure the challenges. I had to go through the agonizing process of starting my life over. It wasn’t easy, the right way seldom is but what I found is priceless. I did finally find that relationship as well, although I am still struggling daily to make it stronger.

Leave a Reply

