Who are you to judge me?

It is Christ Himself, not the Bible, who is the true word of God. The Bible, read in the right spirit and with the guidance of good teachers, will bring us to Him. We must not use the Bible as a sort of encyclopedia out of which texts can be taken for use as weapons

-C.S. Lewis

Back in the mid 90’s as I was getting ready to graduate with my BS in Economics, I was required as one of my final assignments to create a cause effect model. I was required to state why I believed one thing had an effect on another. Then run several tests to see if my initial hypothesis was propable.

What I found is that statistics and probabilities, while useful, can be misleading. My professor used this example. A statician once found out that both crime in summer months haf a very high correlation to ice cream sales. In fact every time crimes had a substantial increase so did the sale of ice cream. So theoretically one could argue that ice cream had something to do with the crime rate. But we all know this just isn’t the case.

People have a unique ability to twist words and manipulate facts into an argument that strengthens their belief. I have seen group after group taking a few verses out of the Bible, and out of context, in order to promote some cause. So many people hear spiritual leaders speak and adopt their messages as their own beliefs. They never pick up a Bible to really appreciate the ministry of Christ. What they know is hearsay, a distorted translation. When I see Christian denominations split over interpretations it saddens me, because I often wonder what mighty transformation could occur if Christians put aside their differences and loved one another the way he loved us. After all that is the one instruction that is clear and concise. Yet, it seems to me to be the one request most ignored.

Leave a Reply

