Hush Up

Matthew 10 – Jesus is sending out the 12 Disciples to preach to the “lost sheep of Israel”.

27 What I tell you in the dark, speak in the daylight; what is whispered in your ear, proclaim from the roofs.

I was reading this passage and I wanted to write this down for future discussion.

This passage takes place as Jesus is sending his disciples out to tell Israel “The Messiah” has indeed arrived. What stopped me as I read through these verses was the reference to Jesus whispering his directions to his disciples even though they were seperated. I believe Christ still communicates with us during our quiet times. God has a plan and a purpose for everyone who serves him. In order to understand it, I must be still enough,quiet enough, to hear his whisper. I want deny that I really wish his voice would be audible over all the chaos going on around me, instead of a faint voice, so easily missed. Wouldn’t it be nice to know how and what God wants us to do? Instead of wondering if the path taken is really the path God intended me to walk. As a Christian, this is by far one of the most frustrating aspects of living a life of service. Maybe God is talking to me and I just can’t hear him. Maybe if I made a more conscience effort I might hear his whisper. I wanted to keep this verse close to me as a reminder. Be still, be quiet, listen to what God is trying so desperately to tell you.

Leave a Reply

